Quicke’s announces dates for education in cheese

Date 11.21.2019 | Category: News
| Comments:

Vote:
Quickes education IDM Nov19

The first and only cheesemaker to host the Academy of Cheese training programme on a working farm, Quicke’s will run the Level 1: Associate one-day course throughout 2020, offering curd nerds the opportunity to improve their knowledge, witness cheese being made from the ground up and gain a recognised certification. Covering both cheese theory and the practical cheesemaking process, this course can be the first step to becoming a fully-certified Master of Cheese.

 

Open to everyone, with no previous experience required, the Level 1 course will begin with a guided tour, visiting the dairy, the cheese stores and ancient rural landscape that makes up Home Farm. The notebooks will then come out for a lesson in everything from provenance and production to maturing, affinage and grading, introducing a structured approach to tasting as the group makes its way through 13 classic cheeses.

 

Supported by home study and further tasting, delegates will work towards a multiple-choice exam paper.

For those wishing to take a peek behind the rind of traditional Clothbound Cheddar, Quicke’s Cheese Tours will showcase just what goes into an award-winning wedge. Guests will watch on as each truckle is crafted by hand, before exploring the ‘cathedral of cheese’ and tucking into a tutored tasting. Quicke’s world-famous cows will then be the stars of a guided tour around the farm, ending with lunch at Devon’s oldest working brew pub, The Beer Engine in Newton St Cyres.

 

The Academy of Cheese Level 1: Associate training courses will take place at Quicke’s on the following dates, running from 9:30am to 4:30pm:


Tuesday 25 February

Tuesday 28 April

Tuesday 23 June

Tuesday 29 September

Tickets can be purchased from Eventbrite and cost £195 per person, which includes access to the Academy of Cheese Level 1 online knowledge base, study materials and Cheese Library.

 

Quicke’s Cheese Tours will take place on the following dates, running from 10am to 2pm:


Friday 24 April

Friday 29 May

Friday 19 June

Friday 26 June

Friday 17 July

Friday 24 July

Friday 21 August

Friday 28 August

Friday 18 September

Friday 25 September

Tickets can be purchased from Eventbrite and cost £35 per person. For more visit quickes.co.uk

 



Source: Quickes
Author: COX
Load more news » Loading news